Extra

Celebrating modern moments of confidence

Mars Wrigley approached us to rebrand Extra, creating a new brand expression to unify global markets, appeal to younger consumers and transform the brand into an iconic lifestyle brand for a digital-first generation.

  • New York 11:03 AM
  • London 04:03 PM
  • Singapore 11:03 PM
  • Shanghai 11:03 PM
IconicityFlexibility

The Tension

We began by looking at Extra’s key asset: a “ding” symbol, traditionally a code for cleanliness and dental hygiene. The “ding” demanded a refresh — one reflective of the brand’s target consumers and their lifestyle. We elevated the “ding” symbol, modernizing it as a bold, simplified, eye-catching key asset— reimagining it as a metaphor for celebrating moments of confidence.

The Power

Extra’s new bold design and wider brand identity radiates confidence that goes beyond packaging to reflect a younger, global generation’s lifestyle and desires and to unlock rich storytelling opportunities. Paired with a circular shield, the “ding” boasts softened curves and a clean eye-catching design. Versatile for use across touchpoints, the lock-up bridges the tension between iconicity and flexibility. Designed to meet market needs and drive future innovation, Extra’s new distinctive visual identity is its first unified expression of the master brand at a global level — a move that is nothing short of “extra.”